2010 Cox Plate Field Cut to 24 with Third Declarations

October 6th, 2010

The number of horses competing for a spot in the 2010 Cox Plate field has been cut to 24 following the third declaration stage yesterday.

The $3 million Group 1 Cox Plate (2040m), scheduled to light up the Moonee Valley track on Saturday October 23, will feature a final field of 14 weight-for-age gallopers.

Early favourites in the Cox Plate betting that were paid up for at the third acceptance stage yesterday include last year’s winner So You Think, weight-for-age warhorse Whobegotyou and Gai Waterhouse’s in-form mare More Joyous.

The three spring stars are dominating the Cox Plate odds at Sportsbet with Bart Cummings’ So You Think the hot favourite at $2.50 followed by Whobegotyou paying $6 and More Joyous at a quote of $7 to win.

Betting Favourites in Cox Plate Field after Third Declarations

  • So You Think ($2.50)
  • Whobegotyou ($6)
  • More Joyous ($7)
  • Shoot Out ($9)
  • Metal Bender ($11)
  • Zipping ($12)

Check Ladbrokes.com.au for full market and updated odds

International raiders looking to upset the Aussie’s in this year’s Cox Plate are Macau galloper Luen Yat Forever and New Zealand’s leading weight-for-age star Wall Street.

International Cox Plate Field Entries at Third Acceptance Stage

  • Luen Yat Forever (Macau)
  • Wall Street (New Zealand)

Noteworthy absentees from the Cox Plate field following third declarations include the Lloyd Williams-owned Alandi, John O’Shea’s Zabrasive and the Gai Waterhouse-trained Theseo.

Williams still has his last start winner of the Group 1 Turnbull Stakes Zipping on the Cox Plate path as well as 2008 Melbourne Cup placegetter C’est La Guerre who broke a 31-month losing streak with a win in the Craven Plate last weekend.

The 2010 Caulfield Cup third declarations were also taken yesterday leaving 41 horses heading towards the richest 2400m handicap in the world lead by new odds-on favourite Metal Bender, while the 2010 Melbourne Cup second acceptances revealed 78 stayers are still heading towards the $6 million feature.

Now is the time to get in on the betting markets for these highly anticipated spring features before the final fields are announced and the odds on your favourites shorten.

So for the hottest price every horse in every race, sign up with Australia’s most trusted online bookie Ladbrokes.com.au and be instantly rewarded with a free $300 bet!

2010 Tatts Cox Plate Field Third Acceptors

No. Horse Trainer Weight (kg) Hcp. Rating
1 WHOBEGOTYOU Mark Kavanagh 59 120
2 ZIPPING Robert Hickmott 59 119
3 SHOCKING Mark Kavanagh 59 120
4 METAL BENDER (NZ) Chris Waller 59 117
5 VIGOR (NZ) Danny O’Brien 59 116
6 BUCCELLATI (GB) Tony Noonan 59 115
7 LA ROCKET Dale Sutton 59 115
8 C’EST LA GUERRE (NZ) Robert Hickmott 59 114
9 HERCULIAN PRINCE (NZ) Gai Waterhouse 59 114
10 WALL STREET (NZ) Jeff Lynds 59 114
11 MOURAYAN (IRE) Robert Hickmott 59 110
12 LUEN YAT FOREVER Pou Choi 59 108
13 SHOOT OUT John Wallace 57.5 118
14 SO YOU THINK (NZ) Bart Cummings 57.5 122
15 MONACO CONSUL (NZ) Michael Moroney 57.5 116
16 DESCARADO (NZ) Gai Waterhouse 57.5 115
17 CAPTAIN SONADOR Roger Milne 57.5 112
18 TRUSTING John P Thompson 57.5 112
19 LINTON Robert Hickmott 57.5 111
20 TYPHOON TRACY Peter G Moody 57 118
21 ALLEZ WONDER Bart Cummings 57 109
22 AVIENUS Mark Webb 57 107
23 GHOSTMILK (IRE) Peter G Moody 57 96
24 MORE JOYOUS (NZ) Gai Waterhouse 55.5 115